Cracking the fear of mess…with very clean shaving foam!

Standard

I’ve mentioned before about how it seems that boys, certainly mine, are often more reticent about getting messy than their girl counterparts.  I haven’t had time to research whether this is anything more than anecdotal, but in any case, my little lad just couldn’t resist the temptation (and clean smell!) of shaving foam … eventually!

I started out by spraying the foam into the letters ‘T’, ‘M’, ‘D’ and ‘H’ and we talked about these (a current interest).  I’d also put out some implements for him to use to manipulate the foam, rather than having to use his hands, thanks to Ghostwritermummy and this post.

Toby immediately picked up a paintbrush and wiped out the letters, even daring to poke the brush with his finger to try it out.

IMG_2442 IMG_2444

 

He asked for me to get it off, but I said that I had some on my fingers and I thought it was fine, which satisfied him and he continued.  I made a T in the foam

IMG_2441

 

But he wasn’t yet ready to make marks with his fingers himself.

After a bit more brushing, he got a bit bolder…

IMG_2448 IMG_2445

 

…and then painted mummy…

IMG_2451

 

…and then his knee!

IMG_2453

 

He was then in the tuff spot and discovered how slippy the foam is.  This he found hilarious and particularly enjoyed making marks with his legs and feet while Daddy held him:

IMG_2454 IMG_2457

 

I then took Edspire’s lead (here) and involved him in the tidy up bu giving him a bowl of warm soapy water and a sponge…

IMG_2461 IMG_2460

 

…just as much fun and job done!

I’m feeling positive about our messy play today and am glad we are no longer shaving foam virgins!

Leave a Reply

