Potty Power!

Standard

So no. 1 son has started the whole process of potty training.

He’s doing so well…10 days in and hardly any accidents.

I, on the other hand, am a wreck!!

Everyone talks about how much better it is to not have to change nappies, but I can hand on heart say that nappies are a damn sight easier! It’s not just the “time for potty now, Toby” that goes round like an echo all day, but the constant wee watch and heightened sense awareness of my son’s every wiggle.  It is truly exhausting.

It also means that my little boy is not a baby any more.  This whole process has, unsurprisingly, coincided with a number of developments in language, confidence, independence and cognition that have, in equal measure, filled me with joy and mild melancholy at the passing of another stage of his life.  

Mostly, I’m thrilled with the little human that I am getting to know more and more each day but will be glad when this new phase is well established and I can let go of the constant state of tension….Quick! Where’s the potty?….

 

Well done Toby, Mummy is very proud of you xx

Leave a Reply

