Momentous May Day

Standard

Where I work is on top of a hill.  Today, I left the car park and drove down that hill with a heart as light as a feather, knowing that I had just made the best decision I’d ever made.  I’ve taken the plunge…I’m not going back to work!!  Well, at least not for another year.  I feel jubilant. I feel elated. I feel that a seismic shift has happened for me….Mrs ‘follow the career path, do not stray from the straight and narrow’ has decided to go against what might have been expected to spend more time with my children while they are so little.  I am in no way passing judgement on other mothers who work but am just recognising how big this is for me.

Everything has changed for me in the last few months, well really since Harry’s birth.  That little boy has taught me how to really love and accept my children for the wonderful miracles that they are and Jennie at Edspire and other mummy bloggers have taught me about how precious their little lives are and also how fun it can be spending time with them once a bit of effort has been made.  I thank them all and wish with all my heart that Matilda Mae was still here but her legacy has left a rather large mark on this family, helping us to make this momentous May-day decision.

It is Matilda’s 1st birthday tomorrow and we will be blowing bubbles and lighting candles and I will shed tears for her mummy who always knew what I have only just come to.  Thank you Jennie for pointing me in the right direction and I will hold you in my heart tomorrow.

It’s going to be hard, particularly financially, but I’m so happy and that just tells me that this is the right thing for us.  Yippee!!

2 responses »

  1. How wonderful to be able to have all that special quality time with your little ones. Stay at home is the hardest but most rewarding job in the world, even on the darkest of days x

Leave a Reply

