Dairy Diary

Standard

So it appears that my beautiful boy is allergic/intolerant to dairy.  Hasn’t been a problem up until now and I’ve eaten dairy (and you’ve seen the size of him!), but since weaning, his face has turned from the perfect, peachy skin of a chubby baby to a dry, rashy, and now blistered, mess.  Oh Harry, I am so sorry!  I started this weaning business a little reluctant but confident and keen to go down the BLW route.  There are no allergies or intolerances (bar to each other) in our family and so I went in, all guns blazing, giving him little bits of what we were eating (as per instructed by the book!).  The rash started after some yoghurt, but, not being a purist, I had just dunked the spoon in Toby’s strawberry fromage frais rather than trying first with natural yoghurt…so it wasn’t clear if the reaction was to strawberries or yoghurt.  I’d also made him drop scones with a bit of cheese…and given him pitta bread.  I was kicking myself that I’d done it this way so that it was impossible to isolate the culprit.

Anyway, after a bit more of a systematic approach, it appears that it is, in fact, dairy.  Unfortunately, the NHS is not terribly helpful here as I’ve been told that they won’t test him unless he has a bad reaction and so I’ve just got to go through a process of trial and error.  The problem is, that the ‘error’ results in my baby looking like he’s had acid thrown at him (perhaps a bit of an exaggeration  but that what it feels like to me).  I feel a bit adrift with it all now and don’t know whether to start again following the official puree advice (which is what my HV wants, clearly) or to carry on with BLW…answers on a postcard please!

Leave a Reply

